Bryan’s Birthday Bash (3 days early)

But this post is 3 days late cos the outing took place on the 24th lol. I’m really not a very punctual and accurate blogger XD. I didn’t know it was his birthday until he told Yagi sensei when we met her…

Anyway, just fyi…

Characters (in alphabetical order)

Adrian(age 19): An emo, reserved professional vocalist of After Dusk. His passion and earnest attitude in Japanese language and culture knows no bounds. Evokes jealousy and admiration in his fellow classmates.

Bryan(age 27): A silly, mocha-head uncle who pokes his nose into almost anything and everything. A child at heart, but a rich adult in his wallet. Also an engineer who stares at his computer which stares back at him at work.

Katty(age 20): Mysterious and reserved, she can be sweet and caring when her friends are in need. Sensitive to issues regarding herself, and very conscious of her own image. Meaning, very lady-like. Makes Bryan drool when she wears her office wear.

Uemura Hirokazu Sensei(age 25): A witty, humorous, and dedicated Japanese language teacher at Tenrikyo. As he is too nice a person, his students often ask him out but sadly, he is a busy person.

Yagi Sensei(age 28): Also a dedicated teacher at Tenrikyo for about 3 years, Yagi sensei is gentle yet stern woman who knows what she is doing. She bites hard when she’s mad. So you people better do her homework and score in your exams. XD

Back to the topic at hand. So we went to Cashbox studio at Clarke Quay/Chinatown area to pass time before we meet our senseis for dinner at Ginga, River View Hotel, which is also in the area. Didn’t take much pics cos as usual, my phone’s running extremely low on memory ¬¬

At the KTV… Adrian showed us his singing prowess!

24-11-07_1642small.jpg

Whoa I didn’t know Adrian could really sing! omg he sounded so professional. If only he sings jpn songs too hehe. Good thing Bryan recorded his singing! and many other of our singing too ¬¬ I think that’s the only thing he’s done good so far… XD

After about 2.5 hours of singing, we headed to the hotel to meet our senseis for some really nice dinner. It was like the bestest Japanese food I’ve ever tasted(at least in SG’s standards)! But of course uncle would like to think otherwise because he’s %$£&^$%&£(the one paying) LOL.

Cho-chotto matta!

We took a group pic in cashbox ;p (the only one in the day. Without the senseis at that! T~T) [From the left: Bryan, Adrian, me, Katty ^^]

1124_183045small.jpg

And so to River View Hotel we went…

Everything is so pretty there! And there were a lot of Japanese! omg even the lift speaks Japanese! AAAAAAAHHHHHHHH SUBARASHII DESSSUUUUUU~~~!!!!!

The napkin is… really kawaiiii~~~~ mine is the male yukata version.

24-11-07_1850small.jpg

Adrian the pro had the female kimono one… this is taken with his phone. From here, not only can you see that the female kimono has more layers, but also the difference between his high quality cam phone and my lousy cam phone T~T

kimononapkin.jpg

Meanwhile when we were really curious about how the napkin was folded, we requested for the waitress to demonstrate for us. omoshiroi desu~~ demo mou wasuremashita wahahah~~

We ordered some drinks and the coaster that came with it was… so pretty too. XP

24-11-07_1854small.jpg

I was bored so… ;D that is Yagi sensei in the pic by the way. Look at the ambience of the restaurant! And Uemura sensei was like super late ¬¬. If you would notice the missing seat next to Yagi sensei…

24-11-07_1856small.jpg

the appetizer. The sauce is actually tomato, with a bit of spice. Hmm… SGrean flavour XD

24-11-07_1857small.jpg

SASHIMI!!! TOTEMO OISHIIIIII~~~~~~

24-11-07_1904small.jpg

CHAWANMUSHIIIIII~~~~~~~~~~~~~ IT’S LIKE THE BEST ONE I’VE EVER HAD!! (maybe because I was hungry? LOL)

24-11-07_1905small.jpg

Look at the spread!! And Uemura Sensei’s seat was still empty ¬¬ We had fried prawns, buttered prawns(SGrean style XD), chicken wings (also SG… lol) , beef(again..), fish, sushi roll, and fried rice. And I can’t remember anything else lol. err… isn’t this supposed to be a Japanese restaurant? anyway the food was still tasty XDDD

24-11-07_1927small.jpg

After a gazillion years, Uemura sensei finally came ^^ I think it’s pretty obvious which one is Uemura sensei since he has that distinctive Japanese look LOL

24-11-07_1937small.jpg

Shortly after, we had kiku-masamune sake to toast for Ojisan’s birthday!! It was a strong wine and I didn’t know, so I gulped down the whole cup like that O___O thankfully, I had water before and after the wine so I felt fine ^^;; water is my best friend hehe. However, Uemura sensei had gone really zany. Maybe it’s the sake…?

sensei-daaaasmall.jpg

hehe. We played ouendan with the senseis and I was surprised that they’ve never heard of ds before! omg poor senseis they have to live in a mountain top with poor o’us T~T. As usual, everyone underestimated the intricate gameplay of ouendan and ended up hurting themselves… emotionally hehe XDDD

I showed Uemura sensei, Bryan and Adrian ouendan in my ds while Katty showed hers to Yagi sensei. After a short ‘training’, a series of battles took place… There were many more but these are the funniest/most memorable ones. haha. TOO BAD I FORGOT TO TAKE PICS T~T

Uemura Sensei vs Yagi Sensei

Song: Melody (ouendan 1)

Progress: Both were unstable, and unsure of what to do. Uemura sensei eventually got the hang of it, but Yagi sensei was still at loss of what to do XD

Victor: Uemura sensei

Bryan vs Adrian

Song: Ready Steady Go (they’d got a death wish or what…)

Progress: Adrian kept losing to Bryan at the first 3 stages of the song. Don’t get me wrong, Bryan’s not a pro. He just got lucky that Adrian can’t spin the wheel in a full circle. Both guys missed 95% of the keys lol.

Victor: Adrian. Under mine and Katty’s encouragement and advice, Adrian managed to spin a full circle at the end and beat Bryan hands down. You go, dude! (oh, and did I mention that Bryan made a bet with Adrian? whoever lost would have to finish up the food! XD)

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in BFF, dates, music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bryan’s Birthday Bash (3 days early)

  1. jiaying says:

    that sounds so fun la.. hehe seems like you have great sporting friends!

  2. goodbyedays says:

    OMG!! I’M t3h 1337 em0ness LOL!
    But anyway, nice post there ^^

  3. varumin says:

    aiyah! the group pic so blur.. wasted! @_@
    next time we go restaurants, you fold for me the kimono napkin ah?!?!!

Leave a Reply

