Happy International Women’s Day

Though it’s already 40minutes past the memorable day, and I’m still not yet a woman, I still find it essential to comment on it. Or rather, I’m about to explode with opinions.

Most of you out there who came from mountains or secluded villages may not even be aware of the existence of this day. ok now you know that it exists, record this date down permanently in your brain and never forget it (even if you’re a male), just like i did. xD

When I first came to know about this day, it strike me more odd than anything else. Why do we have this day? Why do we even NEED to have this day? What purpose does it serve? Will it help women, or hinder us more?

The very fact that this day even exists tells a lot about us women.

Firstly, why do women even need a day to remind themselves that they should be proud to be a woman? Shouldn’t that already be a staple mindset? Indeed, females need a lot of emotional support from both men and their counterparts alike. They constantly need reassurance to maintain their mentality and emotions, hence this special day allows women to come together and strengthen their confidence and renew their self-esteem as women. 

Another reason why we have this day could be because sexism is still reigning in many parts of the world. Despite fighting for equality rights, women are still being treated as only second to men. Women are viewed more as objects rather than human beings, until they really work ultra hard and strive to prove themselves otherwise.

That’s right. Feminism stems from sexism. Most of us gals respect ourselves and the opposite gender, and want to be viewed as equally capable, if not better, prim and proper human beings. We’re not just dolls or ornaments. We need emotional support most of the time, but we’re still independent. We may be troublesome at times, but we’re definitely not troublemakers. If men can respect us like we respect them, there wouldn’t be a day like this anymore.

Happy International Women’s Day. 

 

P.S. I need practice for GPPPPPP~~~~ 

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy International Women’s Day

  1. Anonymous says:

    “…Most of us gals respect ourselves and the opposite gender, and want to be viewed as equally capable, if not better, prim and proper human beings.”

    Wouldn’t “better” be on the other end of sexism already? Sexism has two extremes to it – towards the males and towards the females.
    Anyhow, having a Women’s Day existing already reeks of sexism 😦 To achieve true gender equality, women have to be prepared to give up all gender privileges that come from them being women – like expecting the unfairer sex to treat you better because you’re female (even though that’s rather intangible). Otherwise, it’ll just be steering towards feminism, or female chauvinism.

Leave a Reply

