Heaven’s Cataract – Part 4

A FADING DREAM

 

Back at the dormitory, Kyle kept reminscing the fantastical encounter with Amber. He marvelled at her beauty, and at the same time, he was drawn to the shroud of mystery that surrounded her. How could such a woman exist? Kyle wondered. It was all too dreamy to be real.

 

As much as he would like to knock himself out with Amber in his mind, Kyle couldn’t help but ponder about Amber’s reaction to his name. It was as though Amber had suddenly found out Kyle was her nemesis or something. What was that about?  Kyle thought the answer would be elusive, since Amber would be one hard nut to crack. She seemed like the sort that would be good at dodging tricky subjects and turning tables around. Getting a response from her would be like begging a tree for a sardine. But that wouldn’t stop Kyle from getting closer to Amber. He was determined to know every bit about her – how old she was exactly, her status (did she have a boyfriend?), what she liked to eat, what kind of flowers did she prefer…

 

And whether she had a son named Kyle.

 

That line suddenly surfaced from the bottom of Kyle’s mind. He immediately shook his head and reminded himself that Amber could only be in her thirties. But Kyle couldn’t shake off the feeling that Amber was actually much older than she looked. Perhaps this is part of the Amber mystery, Kyle tried to reassure himself. But the same feeling of uneasiness kept coming back to him, and the question of ‘Is she my mother?’ still lingered.

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

REVELATION

 

‘He’s my son…’

 

Amber repeated to herself subconsciously. ‘He’s my son. He’s all grown up now. He’s now studying in Harvard. He’s now right here. He’s my son.’

 

‘Who’s your son?’ Gordon asked inquisitively and suddenly, as he came into Amber’s office without knocking, making Amber jump in her seat.

 

‘I’ve always thought you were single?’

 

‘I…’ Amber began and sighed. ‘Nothing.’

 

‘Come on, you can tell me anything.’

 

‘It’s a long story, Gordon…’

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

NB: sorry if this part is shitty. it’s a long break after part 3 so im totally fazed now lol. need some time to get back into story-telling mode and refresh my ideas ^^

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heaven’s Cataract – Part 4

  1. kanon says:

    lol! o-m-g

    I was already freshen up after a shower(i know its kinda late to take a bath nowZZ) and saw that part 4 was too short! =0

    LoL are you doing something to the length of your story. caz i would have expected it to be probably like 760 words long?
    haha

Leave a Reply

