When the server is down…

Server refers to a waitress, actually. At least, in my workplace, they call waiters/waitresses ‘servers’ and customers guests.

Though I’m working on firm ground, I can kind of understand the turmoil that air stewardesses go through. As most people have already noticed, air stewardesses are basically just a little more than waitresses in the sky (but actually, they’re much more than that… really. My erm limited experience as a waitress and reading of sky stories tell me that.) So our work are kinda similar. When I feel down, I’m reminded of how air stewardesses have to bear with all the shit that we go through multiple times more, and I feel more encouraged to go on. I imagine myself as a ‘ground stewardess’. xDD (Euphemism does help elevate one’s mood along with one’s status… or so it seems :DD)

Serving people is no doubt a people’s job, meaning the staff will need to have adept socializing skills. This is by no means an easy feat. To people like me, socializing is not in our genes. All I could do at the beginning was to plaster a smile on my face, repeat the same lines to patrons (hi, welcome, thank you and see you again…) like a playback radio, and walk around looking for things to do so as to keep myself occupied. I couldn’t converse with our guests about random things, things from the top of my head (because there’s nothing when I blank out!! But I’m not bimbo k!!), or just ask about their day. Maybe I’m just not observant or experienced enough to read people’s faces about what they want to hear or chat about, or if they even want to chat at all.

Today, I could at least ask about their day, where they live and they do and stuff like that. As you meet more people, you’ll realise everyone really just wants to have a good chat. With the right people, at the right time and with the right topics of course. I dunno if I can fulfill the first criterium, but for the subsequent criteria, they can certainly be learnt on the job.

Hopefully, I can become a friendlier, more approachable, and overall a better person.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

In this line, you really need to learn how to be sensitive, attentive, alert and responsive (these are qualities air stewardesses possess as well, by the way). Even if you don’t quite have these traits, you can polish them while on the job. Most importantly, being attentive to people’s needs is, I feel, the best trait that one can have. And I hope to fully attain that 🙂

____________________________________________________________________________________________

My boss chatted with me for a while when we weren’t so busy. He said his friend told him that everyone has to live in the present; not the past, not the future. I pondered on that line for a while. Perhaps it’s because I’ve been so engrossed in either the past which I can’t do anything about, or the future which may never happen, that I’ve become so disconnected with the present, the people around me. And that is perhaps how I’ve been reduced to this state. I can’t reach out to anybody; my voice doesn’t get heard, my words don’t get across, people are getting further away from me. I’ve become so comfortable – too comfortable – in my own enclosure that people don’t see the need to reach out to me, even if I’m trying my best to get their attention and banging my fists on the glass ceiling to beg them to get me out, to let me join them. They don’t seem to get what I’m trying to convey. Or perhaps I’m so disconnected from the present and from myself that I no longer know how to properly express myself.

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Feeding the mind. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the server is down…

  1. sd says:

    I believe this job would teach you a lot.
    endurance, sensitivity, tact, personal relations and much much more!!!

Leave a Reply

