Stranded

Why, why me? Why can’t I go home?

And why Auckland of all places?? (So boring!!)

I think God must have a reason for giving me an ear block and putting me here. To extend my probation (which is already extended), to make me grow fat, to make me waste my time and money, to make me miss proper food…

But I think the main reason is for me to think about life.

Well, with nothing to do here and a reeeeeeaaaallllyyyyyy slow pace of life, there sure is plenty of thinking to do.

First of all, who says Auckland is boring? Only boring people say the word boring. Yes, I’m talking about you, who is bored enough to read a dead blog (just kidding).

Auckland is NOT boring. I know, I’ll face many protests and possibly a death penalty for saying this, but it’s true. There is always something to do besides shopping. You just have to go find it.

I’m really overwhelmed by the beautiful Waiheke Island which is VERY near to Auckland by ferry, and the harbour VERY near to the hotel (there’s no excuse not to go there, isn’t there!). After taking the tour and figuring out how to navigate the island I will definitely explore on my own next time when I come here again. I found out that there are OTHER places worth exploring as well, like the Devonport village, which is EVEN nearer to the harbour. I might go there tomorrow…

Or there’s also a bus tour. And there’s a museum. And the hotel doctor suggested the aquarium.

Actually, I was subconsciously looking forward to this flight because of the natural beauty that I KNOW New Zealand has to offer. Somehow I allowed myself to be convinced by other people that New Zealand is nothing but B.O.R.I.N.G.. And I’ve become a boring person myself for the first few days I was stuck here… Becoming a permanent resident of the hotel.

I certainly don’t want that status, no thanks.

Now, what has exploring New Zealand got to do with my life? I don’t know, yet.

Maybe being stranded here has made me rethink about how I can make my situation work in my favour, instead of succumbing to it. I should not have let past testimonials from colleagues affect my judgement. I always know their words are biased and never true. And now that I’ve gotten over it I’m so much happier. I’ve seen and experienced natural beauty, fresh air, lots of greenery and LAND SPACE (something we don’t have from where I come from), in a comfortable and cooling breeze, which has always been my thing. Something I would not have experienced if I have heeded my colleagues words and become a couch potato.

And I can apply this to what I do everyday in my life. Disregard hearsays or comments from others. Research. Explore. Discover. And gain. I will only believe what I see for myself.

Maybe this is why God gives me an unnecessary extended holiday.

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Feeding the mind. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

