Overqualified but underqualified?

High school diploma. Check. Good occupational history. Check. Relevant qualifications. Check. Well grooming turn-out. Check. Manners. Ermmm…. Still not used to the custom here.

My Japanese language is good enough to get around and possibly even good enough to smoke through part-time job interviews (I applied for a position at a wedding concierge and a banquet service. Of course I would prefer the wedding concierge, but the banquet job is pretty similar to the stewardess job, I guess). SIA had taught me well in grooming and service. Heck, just having SIA in my resume alone gives me an edge over the others. Back in Singapore if I were to apply for a normal part time with such a resume I will be more than qualified. But over here, I’m lacking in two important areas: the Japanese business language and the Japanese style service.

I’m still not used to bowing. When I went for the interview, I think my interviewer bowed more than me. Which I think it’s not right at all. And when the interviewer raised some points about me that I should have explained or improved, I simply kept quiet. True enough, SIA emphasises a lot on apologising, and so do the Japanese, but I was accustomed to saying ‘Sorry’, and not ‘Sumimasen’ or ‘Moushi wake gozaimasen’ (the more formal version of sorry in Japanese).

The manager of Hyatt’s banquet service (the job I went to interview for) mentioned that he was kind of disturbed by the fact that I wrote that I have interest in the reception and concierge job. I should’ve apologised, but I just kept quiet. If I were to really work with him in the future, who knows what will happen to me. In airline lingo, I will kena zapped everyday (but I won’t be working there everyday of course).

In short, I’m really screwed but I don’t want to think about negative things. the Law of Attraction states that if you think only about optimistic things, you will attract good outcomes, and that is what I will do.

I will get the jobs. I will get the jobs. I will get the jobs. I’m so overqualified, it’s their loss to not hire me. Yes, I will get the jobs.

アルバイトを2つ応募しました。結婚式会場と宴会サービスの仕事なんですが、面接はうまく行ったかな。高校卒業証書と良い職歴を持っているし、日本語能力試験も合格したし、面接を合格できるように条件があるのに、残念なことに、日本語があまり上手じゃなくて、日本の慣習もまだ慣れていません。

SIAで培ったサービス技術をアルバイトに活かしたいんですが、今までの日本語の能力は、頑張らないといけないんですね。特に敬語を、練習しなくちゃ。>。< 今日の面接、悪い印象を残ってしまったかもしれません。

’いい考えだけを思えば、いい結果が来るから’と友人に言われました。彼女が言ったとおり、これからいい結果だけ想像しようとします。’必ずできますよ’、‘きっと就職させますよ’、できるだけ積極的なことを考えてみます。

やっぱり、結婚式会場の仕事のほうが好きなので、就職させたらいいなあ〜と思うの。ですから、あそこに就職できるってこの考えだけ思うわ!

よし、きっとできますよ、アンバー。頑張れ!

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Overqualified but underqualified?

  1. Veron says:

    I am not quite understand why you have to apologize for writing what you interested in?

  2. Caroline says:

    Hey Chong Mei! Was just wondering how you were doing in Japan and chanced upon your blog url on fb! Just wanted to let you know that for the law of attraction to work (“The Secret” if you read the book/watched the movie) you must write positive things to state it is already happening e.g. I got the *** Job/ I am working in *** (Company name) for it to work 😀 not “I will…” Many has claimed it really works and I’m testing it out now. HAHA. Hope it does great for you. All the best in Japan babe!

  3. amberMirage says:

    Veron: cos I was interviewing for a totally different job!

    Caroline: oh really! I didn’t know. I only read the book briefly. ok I will change my way of thinking now! thanks for letting me know babe! All the best for your uni too!

  4. Anonymous says:

    hey moi, i’m glad for you! jia you, we are all thinking of you every day!!

Leave a Reply

