Summer in Japan

Summer. The most dreaded season. And my fears were not unfounded. Born and bred in Singapore, sun and heat should mean nothing to me, but in Osaka I’ve fallen prey to heatstroke, not just once, but thrice! -_-  Even with my high tolerance of heat, whenever I step out into the sun, I start perspiring. And the high humidity level makes the perspiration stick to my skin like an overly attached partner. 

Image

 

But still I must say, even in this torturous weather, good things have happened. In fact, one of the best things in my life occurred in the middle of the hottest of the hot season. 

During my first break, I made my very first trip out of Osaka on my own (yay me! screwed up a lot along the way though T~T) to…. Fukuoka!! It is said that Kyushu has the best food, scenery, and tons of things to do, and it’s true, although I hadn’t had the chance to explore that much. 

I took a night bus to and fro, taking 10 hours each trip T~T. But it’s alright, the bus has 15 minute breaks every two hours. During the last break, right before we entered Fukuoka, I caught a view of one of the most magnificently breathtaking scenery in my whole life. 

Image

I’m a city girl but I love nature, so this is a perfect mix of both. Just perfect. It was already the beginning of summer, but over there it was so windy it felt like spring. It was simply… wonderful.

My real purpose in going to Fukuoka was actually to meet a BFF… Edwin!!!

Image

Edwin says we look like siblings with our grins, and I totally agree!!! Awwwww miss him so much!!! And everyone in Singapore!!! >.< whatever system that is generating the crew roster now, please let my friends have more flights to Japan, especially Osaka!! ^^

It was tiring for both of us to travel around Fukuoka, especially since Edwin had worked so hard on the flight to Fukuoka and I had a tiring 10 hour bus ride lol. But it was so much fun! Fukuoka is so different from Osaka; it is clean, weather and environment is good, food is delicious… I’m so going back to Fukuoka!!! 

In Japan, when talking about summer, it’s all about fireworks, or hanabi. Though wearing a summer kimono (yukata) and squeezing with the crowd just to catch a glimpse of some explosion in the sky may sound silly, it’s actually kinda fun! The atmosphere is so…. Japanese. Wearing a yukata and doing Japanese things really make me feel like I’m part of this crazy yet, nonetheless, attractive country.

My first hanabi festival is the PL hanabi festival. I wore the yukata that I bought for myself, and went with mainly Taiwanese friends and some Korean and Japanese friends. Strangely enough, it feels like I’m a Japanese in Taiwan!

Image

Sometimes I feel that the festival is just an excuse to wear yukata!!! I mean, fireworks are beautiful, but they are still just fireworks!!! LOL

The second festival was the important one… the one that changed my life. 

Image

This yukata is a gift from him, who is now my other half. I really never thought this day would come. I had thought that in today’s culture, old school dating has ceased to exist. This man here has shown me that gentlemen still exist. That the proper way of dating is still the way to go. And that waiting my whole life for the right man to come along was worth it. I’m really glad I had waited; he is exactly who I had wished for, the person I need the most right now. I really thank god for letting me meet the right person, to fill my life with colours, to light up my life, to complete my life. 

私の人生に登場してありがとう<3
これからもよろしくね〜 o(^_^)o

 

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer in Japan

  1. David says:

    Congratulations! May God richly bless your life together. There is much more value in traditional things than most people today realize. Tradition is the glue that keeps us from flying off into nonexistence.

Leave a Reply

