Cultural insensitivity at it’s very best

Studying overseas is obviously one of the best methods of cultural immersion. Though I don’t have tea ceremony or flower arrangement classes included in my Japanese language class curriculum, listening carefully to my teachers always gives me new insights into Japanese culture nevertheless. They always give themselves away in obscured ways how they think about foreigners. It is not always a bad thing; at least it can be understood that in their conscious mind they try to accept foreigners as part of their society.

But today, a twisted teacher expressed explicitly his (utterly racist) opinion concerning a country which 90% of our classmates are from.

It’s all over the news in Japan now; people from that country (I don’t think I need to spell it all out) are protesting against Japan and smashing anything that’s made in Japan or remotely related to Japan. It is absolutely understandable for Japanese to hold grudges against this country, given such circumstances. But still, it doesn’t mean that EVERYONE from that country is anti-Japan. Not everyone shares the same view. In the name of racial harmony, no matter how unhappy you are with a person’s country, tolerance is absolutely necessary. Albeit, even as a member of the teaching profession, the twisted one not only fails to recognise this fact; he also has made a huge blunder of bringing in his own personal views into his lessons.    

I mean, come on, you are insulting their country in front of them? No matter how witty or perceptive you think you are, it is totally inappropriate to spout such insensitive comments, especially in front of the people of the country which you are insulting. That’s something which either people who lack common sense, or people who outrightly express their contempt, do. Judging the situation, I guess it has to be the latter. 

Even so, there are many other outlets available to vent one’s frustration, such as blogging (like what I’m doing now). Saying it out loud and sounding racist is not one of them. It just makes one seem dangerously xenophobic. A shallow-minded fellow he has made himself out to be.

The bigger problem now is, he has drawn discontentment from those classmates. Being an old man, I’m sure he’s not bothered about the future of his career; voicing out dissatisfaction with him will not make him realise, nor want to amend, his error. He has probably lived his whole life uncriticised, in an abyss of idiocy.

What we couldn’t understand was that, the human catalyst that helped him express his racist thoughts with ease was part of the 90%. Nobody understood why that catalyst would let an outsider – help the outsider – slander his own country.  

On a totally unrelated note, during break time after that, that same catalyst butted into a conversation between me and my friend (we were conversing in English, and even though he presumably could speak English too, he butted in and spoke in Japanese O_O he embarked on a totally different topic too. FYI he’s neither Japanese nor from an English speaking country). I always welcome new friends, but I don’t think this is a good start o_O 

Weird people, weird people everywhere (X___X)

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

