Singapore’s first win at Cannes!!

I know I’m a little late in talking about it but I’m just soooo happy that a Singaporean production has been awarded at such a huge international event!!

Introducing… Ilo Ilo! It’s a film by Anthony Chen, who apparently has a amazing record of films! http://www.iloilomovie.com/

I always salute local talent because I know how hard it is to succeed in the area of film and arts in the Little Red Dot. So if they succeed, I know they’ve worked reaaalllyyy hard to get to where they are. Even if they have achieved a level of success that is comparable to Steven Spielberg, they must have worked at least 10 times harder than him, because the Little Red Dot is just that unconducive for aspiring artists and film makers etc.

I haven’t watched the film yet, but the synopsis has already captured my heart. It’s sooooo Singaporean and I’m sure every Singaporean can relate to this film. Heck, this film can introduce Singapore so much better than my lousy presentation last week in my Wednesday class. I had chose to introduce Singapore in my presentation to my Japanese classmates and teacher and my Japanese was so bad and my presentation so unorganized, I think many people got bored halfway through.

Ok I’ve digressed.

Basically, it’s story about a Singaporean family and their maid. Sooooo Singaporean, because almost every Singaporean household has a maid (my family had a maid as well). The first line of the synopsis had already made me go like, “Yes I’m soooo gonna watch this, because this is the very thing that represents the Singapore heartlands, and it’s something that I’d like my Japanese boyfriend to watch as well cos it will help him understand Singaporean culture better.” I’m soooo happy and glad that this piece won at Cannes, because this is the very thing that reflects what is at the heart of a typical Singaporean life. It’s THE Singaporean life.

Sadly, I didn’t know about this piece of wonderful news until I saw it on a twitter feed a few days later. I was more updated on Japanese news though; a Japanese film had also won at Cannes and it was reported all over the Japanese media for about a week. So I was like yeah, good for you guys, I’m happy for you, happy that an Asian film won. Not even my Japanese boyfriend cared that much. He was just like hmm, ok, that’s a good thing I guess. Well, Japan has had many accolades in many fields, including sports, so I guess it’s nothing special to him. But for a SINGAPOREAN production to be awarded…. that’s really rare. And that’s what got my heart pumping and jumping for joy.

‘Soshite Chichi ni naru’, or in English, ‘Like Father Like Son’. It was also awarded at Cannes and has been reported all over Japanese media.

I was sooo happy that a Singaporean production had been awarded, but I couldn’t share my joy with anyone, because it wasn’t reported in Japanese media so nobody knew about it 😦 and all my Singaporean friends are too far away and I’m not sure if they know about this piece of news.  haiz. It’s frustrating when I can only keep the joy to myself, but oh well, such is the reality of living abroad.

I wasn’t really actively interested in Singapore news or politics until I left Singapore. I guess if I had still been living in Singapore, I might not even give a damn about Anthony Chen and his film. I might go like, yeah, big deal. I guess when we’re living in Singapore, we might be deceived into thinking that Singapore is the world, when really, it’s just a Little Red Dot, and our achievements pale in comparison to more influential countries like US, China, South Korea and Japan etc. Living abroad made me open my eyes and appreciate every little thing about the Little Red Dot even more, and I’m all the more excited about achievements made by fellow Singaporeans 😀

Gonna polish up on my skills and score the next achievement as a proud Singaporean!!! (just kidding XD)

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

