Bentos – why so pretty??

Japanese bentos (lunchboxes) have always been pretty; it’s not just the outside but the inside as well.

Ok that’s kinda more like an art piece (bento art – I think it exists @_@) rather than something that ordinary people make everyday. Just wanna show you how amazing it can get, and how bento art takes on a whole new life of its own.

But even bentos made by ordinary Japanese can be amazingly pretty.

I’ve seen people eat bentos like this in school, no kidding.

At first I was like, it’s just lunch! You bring it to work/school, and you eat them up during lunch break. The end. Why the need to make it so pretty and presentable?!

But such is the Japanese mentality. They have this habit of making everything pretty and presentable. (Digress: which is why learning graphic design in Japan is kinda like a good idea, don’t you think?)

Actually, by making bentos so pretty, it makes lunch more enjoyable doesn’t it? True, it is time consuming, but having that pretty bento next to you in office/school makes you look forward to lunch even more, no?

Also, bentos are usually made by housewives (wife, for working men, or mother, for school kids). So it’s a form of expression of love for their husbands/children when they make it so pretty, on top of making it delicious as well. If you are a housewife (or a diligent working wife/mom/husband/dad, for that matter, to avoid stereotyping), won’t you want your spouse/children to be swelled with joy when they open their bento boxes and everyone around them goes in awe and become green with envy? Won’t you want your spouse/children to proudly show off your masterpiece? I certainly do want my boyfriend to enjoy my bento not only with his tastebuds, but also with his eyes and heart!

My first bentos in Japan were about a year ago, when I first came to Japan and had no idea how to cook, let alone make a pretty and cute bento.

Rest assured they tasted ok, and no I certainly didn’t get food poisoning from eating them, but I admit they look anything but appetizing as compared to the pretty bentos before them.

In Rome, do what the Romans do, and so I tried to make a decent presentable bento yesterday…

Not bad for my first try, I must say! I even bought those cute small cups for containing salad specially for this. LOL

20130605-223925.jpg

Now, appearance aside, I have to work on improving my culinary skills!!!!

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in art, bento and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bentos – why so pretty??

  1. Lynette says:

    hahah what a coincedence! I stumbled onto a SG blog girl doing bentos https://www.facebook.com/bentosingapore just days before reading this article 😀

  2. amberMirage says:

    haha thanks for your comment!!! I still cant appreciate bento beyond it’s practicality, ie I still think of bento as just a portable lunch rather than something pretty to bring to work/school. I still do try to arrange my food nicely though haha. But I don’t really go to that extent to make it pretty…

Leave a Reply

