Women-only train carriages

There are so many perverts in Japan, this thing is actually necessary.

http://injapan.gaijinpot.com/live/starting-in-japan/2013/01/31/safety-japan-foreign-girls/

The article above is written by a white girl for other white girls living in Japan, but I’d say it applies to every girl on the street. Any female is at risk of being a victim of a sexual crime.

At first I was kinda cynical. Like, can’t the women protect themselves? There are so many passengers on the train, can’t they step in and help? After being a victim myself (twice, once on the street and once on the train), I realized it’s not that easy. Some acts are so subtle, you don’t even know how to ask for help.

So as a result, I’ve been taking the women-only carriages of late, and I absolutely HATE it when I see guys inside. Sure, it could be an innocent mistake, or some people just want to avoid the squeeze in other carriages because the women-only carriages are usually not so crowded (it’s not really a crime to enter the carriage as a male after all…), and they probably bear no malicious intentions, but it totally defeats the purpose of setting up such a system. I may be stating the obvious, but these guys have absolutely no idea what women have to go through.

Haiz. I love trains in Japan, I really do. But I hate it that women are objectified so much in Japanese society. I have also talked about how women are so clearly distinguished from men in another post. These make women stand out a lot and some guys with itchy hands can’t keep their hands to themselves…

In most societies, women are expected to dress well and look good, and when we do make an effort to do so (mostly out of our own vanity anyway), we get a lot of unwanted attention and stares. Nowadays, I’m just like yeah whatever you can see but you can’t touch. And if you do touch I’ll make sure that you regret ever having that hand. Seriously.

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in life in japan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

