A summary of summer 2013 – Part 1

Me so punny with the title haha.

Ok, to put it simply, it’s always burning hot hot hot in Japan when summer arrives. Damn. Mathematically speaking, the cooler seasons are supposed to be longer than summer (3/4 of the year vs 1/4), but somehow summer always feels longer than winter >.< I want winter to last longerrrrrrr!!!

I want cool cool winter to last!!!

Ok to be fair when I came back from Singapore a few days ago it was sooooo cool!!! I thought autumn has already arrived lol. But nah it was just the effect from the typhoon that’s been predicted to arrive anytime soon -.-

But anyway, this is what I’ve done this summer (not the last summer, I know that you know what I did last summer. ok corny.).

2013-07-20 12.45.05

It’s not summer until you go to the beach! … Or at least somewhere where you can wear a swimsuit/bikini haha. This year, me and ze boyfriend went to Hirakata Park, or Hira-paa for short. It’s fucking expensive to get in (2000yen entrance fee!) and you have to pay extra to get on the big slides (the smaller slides are free though).

As much as I hate the sun, I love beaches and pools so after slapping on a thick layer of sunblock I’m always ready for a good swim!

A week later, it was our 1 year anniversary so we decided to do something that we didn’t manage to complete previously…

We attempted to conquer the steep slopes of Mino once again!

2013-08-04 14.52.45

All dressed up for the steep path that lies ahead! That’s me posing with the area’s mascot character, Takenomichi Yuzuru-kun. His name means giving way to others on the road to the waterfall, but the word ‘Yuzuru’ has the word ‘yuzu’ in it so they made the character with a face of a yuzu, the citrus fruit. lol

2013-08-04 15.42.25

A bird sighted near the waterfall lol

2013-08-04 14.55.092013-08-04 14.55.562013-08-04 14.56.142013-08-04 14.58.562013-08-04 14.59.032013-08-04 14.59.162013-08-04 14.59.352013-08-04 15.41.412013-08-04 15.42.002013-08-04 15.42.41

Last year autumn, we had tried to go over the steep slopes of Mino (situated in northen Osaka – famous for the waterfall. Scenery changes every season) and get to the goal – which is the tiny waterfall, as shown in the last picture – but I was so not well-dressed for the event. I was fucking wearing heels because I thought it will be mild slopes like in Rokkosan, which is pretty easy to get around with any kind of footwear.

Rokkosan! Maybe I should go back there soon!

Anyway, I digress. So I was wearing fucking heels and all dressed up fucking nicely but the steep slopes totally killed any mood to continue the hike. I was so fed up that I blew my top at ze boyfriend, because he said my attire was ok before we went out of the house. We fought and then left Mino and then eventually patched up again but the place always left a bad aftertaste ever since then. So in order to get over that, we decided to go again, on our anniversary. This time, I wore sneakers and was well-prepared for the steep hike! But it was mid-summer when we went there again, so it was the humidity and heat that wore us down 😦 nevertheless, since it was our anniversary, I wanted it to be enjoyable for us so I tried not to complain and we completed the hike in peace!

Also, I didn’t just slack and play all summer. I learned something new too!

Photo 30-8-13 4 17 49 PM

I’ve finally picked up Korean!! I have a Korean friend who is eager to learn English and so we decided to do a language exchange! I’m more than happy to do my language studies on my own but it makes a difference when you have a native speaker teaching you! Besides, I do have a lot of friends and acquaintances who are Korean so it would be a waste to not learn Korean!

I digress again, but on the way to a cafe to hold our little exchange session we spotted this….

Photo 15-8-13 5 01 23 PM

Ok I don’t really know the guy in white but I’ve seen him on TV many times and he does a lot of variety shows. I’m not a fan but it’s my first time seeing someone on tv in real life in Japan!!! Ahhhh! I’ve never really had any luck in running into anyone related to showbiz so this is a bit of a happening to me. lol.

Speaking of Korean, another Korean friend came over from Tokyo and hanged out with me and a Taiwanese friend!

My Korean friend wanted to eat sushi so badly, but couldn’t eat it in Tokyo because of the radiation-polluted waters that had flowed to Tokyo from Fukushima. So she ate as much sushi and seafood as she could over here in Osaka, where she presumed the fish would be safe. Well, true enough, the Japanese news had also reported on the radiation-polluted waters, though the scale had been dumbed down much in order not to scare the ordinary Japanese citizens. I don’t know what the Korean news had been reporting, but many of my Korean friends are fleeing or have plans to flee Japan. Haiz. It’s sad, but I don’t blame them. Radiation poisoning is no joke. And the scary thing is you don’t know if you’ve been poisoned until much later. Eww. But so far it hasn’t really made it into the international news so I guess radiation poisoning is still not going to happen… yet. Right?

Ok this post is getting too long so I’m gonna continue on part 2, where I’m gonna talk about my trip back home sweet home in Singapore!!!

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in life in japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

