Summer 2013 – Part 2

OMG been so busy with internship and all that I hadn’t had time to blog at all!!! @_@

But but, it’s autumn now! I’m so happy that autumn has finally arrived!! But September is typhoon season and up till now we have already been attacked by 2 typhoons T.T luckily for us, we’re living in Osaka, which is locked inland by Kyoto, Nara and Hyogo prefectures but for people living in Kyoto, they are experiencing the aftermath of excess rains and floods right now 😦 Poor thing >( I hope they can get back to normal soon.

ANYWAY, towards the end of summer, we went to Singapore!!

It’s back at homeland for me, but since my parents had rented out my room to a Malaysian lady, I had nowhere else to sleep in my own flat >.<

And so we ended up staying at Robertson Quay Hotel at Clarke Quay. Clarke Quay is pretty near the centre of Singapore, along the biggest river in Singapore which is called, well, the Singapore River (uncreative naming, huh). I’m a local born and bred Singaporean, but I wasn’t really familiar with Clarke Quay (except the clubbing area which I used to go often), so I always couldn’t find my way from the hotel to the train station (called the MRT). I’m a real direction moron, so yes it sounds stupid but I had to rely on ze boyfriend (a Japanese) to lead the way all the time. hahahaha.

This is the beautiful Singapore River, which is actually visible from our window in the hotel!

This is the beautiful Singapore River, which is actually visible from our window in the hotel!

Singapore River at night time. The lights change the atmosphere totally eh!

Singapore River at night time. The lights change the atmosphere totally eh!

It was only a really short stay but we ate A LOT. Omg. I’ve never eaten so much in a food court/hawker centre before! Well, a food court or a hawker centre is a really cheap eating place and people usually just settle their meals and leave or buy something to take away. It’s not exactly a place where people slowly relish exquisite delicacies. But we ate soooo much!!

A Bak Kuh Teh set for two!

A Bak Kuh Teh set for two!

Ok this is a lunch set for two actually. But we ordered a little more than the set meal offered so it’s still quite a lot! Bak Kuh Teh is Pork Ribs Soup, and it’s one of my favourites! A must try when you go to Singapore! Unless you are a Muslim >.<

Ze boyfriend is not really interested in expensive cuisines or exotic destinations, but he is very adamant on eating every kind of good and cheap food that he can get his hands on. And also, he had heard that this shopping mall called Mustafa is interesting, and so we went to take a look. It is located in Little India, and while that area is indeed part of Singapore, it does resemble India quite a bit…

Photo 24-8-13 4 44 05 PM

 

This is Little India and if you squint hard enough you can see a signboard that says ‘Mustafa Centre’. I’m sorry this isn’t a good angle and I should have taken more pictures but it was so so so sooooo fucking hot and we were in a hurry to go somewhere else. Our itinerary was packed to the brim @_@

I’ve never thought that a place like this would attract so many tourists but yeah, there were surprisingly a lot of tourists. To be specific, a lot of Japanese tourists o_O When I went to Little India a few years ago, there were hardly any other kinds of people except of Indians. Yup, Indians everywhere and anywhere, even Singaporean Chinese people like me were rare (I can’t imagine any Singaporean who would want to go there either…). But now, the place is half filled with tourists. Whoa! Looks like what we think tourists like to see are different from what tourists actually like… My bf was totally fascinated by the, erm, atmosphere, because it’s so different from the rest of Singapore lol.

Well, the Japanese have this culture whereby if they go somewhere for a holiday, they would definitely buy back some souvenirs (omiyage) for their colleagues, friends and families. And Mustafa Centre has about everything and anything, and the second floor was full of snacks and food stuff that can be used as omiyage. So the Japanese literally regard Mustafa Center as an Omiyage Centre.

Speaking of cultures, I’d never imagined that I’d have a culture shock in my own country. I mean, I’ve been back there once last year December, so I thought I would already be used to the difference in culture. I’d been too used to Japanese culture that I had a culture shock when I went back to Singapore last year lol. How stupid is that. Anyway, I thought all that had been over, but it isn’t.

Ok, Japanese tend to overreact all the time or at least have some response to whatever people say because they are polite and they do not want to hurt people’s feelings (how do you feel if people don’t give a damn about what you say?). But Singaporeans are monotonous and dead all the time, and it takes a lot, and I mean A LOT, to amuse a young Singaporean nowadays. (Ok, I actually think nothing can amuse them nowadays. And then they complain that life is boring. Duh, does it come as any surprise. They are the boring ones, fuck.)

Alright the thing is, my family (parents and brother), boyfriend and cousin were having dinner at my other cousin’s place (let’s call her Tina, not her real name). Tina talked about her friend cutting squares (literally) in her corneas and then inserting contact lenses in them, because her eyes were so bad that she couldn’t even do lasik. I was so fucking shocked that I went like EHHHHHH!!!! THE FUCK!!!! BUT everyone else was like, just, errr ok. I was like, OMG, HOW CAN ANYONE NOT BE SHOCKED?! HOW CAN EVERYONE BE CALM AS FUCK!?

But that’s when I realised how much I’ve been influenced by Japanese culture. To overreact at anything and everything. To listen carefully to what people say and to respond appropriately. I’ve seriously become a Japanese, maybe….

BUT STILL, TO CUT SQUARES IN THE CORNEAS!!!

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Feeding the mind, trips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

