Being a Singaporean

Hey everyone!! So sorry I haven’t been blogging for weeks! New school term just started in October and I’ve already been loaded with tons of homework T~T On top of that I still have to work on other projects in order to beef up my portfolio for graduation, which is in less than 2 years! Plus I also have part-time work >.< It’s a busy busy busy period for me >.<||

But anyway, something interesting happened so I thought I just wanted to share it here!

Every Friday, my school has (basic) English lessons in the afternoon, which of course I don’t have to attend. Instead, I attend this talk session with native English teachers and Japanese students who are keen to brush up on their conversation skills. The purpose of this programme is of course to encourage Japanese students to speak up more, but of course, being the shy people they are, it is native English teachers and the English-speaking students who talked the most.

So last Friday, I was at this table with an American-Chinese teacher and a few other female students, and the teacher started asking me about strange laws in Singapore. It started out with the standard no chewing gum law which almost everyone who have heard of Singapore would know.

And then he kept asking me for other interesting laws in Singapore. At first I couldn’t think of any, like what else is there aside from the chewing gum law? But then I dug deeper into my memory and then I realised, boy, Singapore is such an authoritarian country with so many draconian laws! I recalled my General Paper (GP – like general knowledge) lessons in Junior College (Singapore’s equivalent of high school), then I remembered my teacher mentioning some draconian laws which still haven’t been removed (but not reinforced either).

One such example is not being able to go out in groups of more than 5 people. Ok let’s be serious, the state is not going to actively reinforce it. There are big families with more than 5 members, and there are class outings which definitely exceed 5 people. The state can’t possibly stop all these gatherings. That’s too draconian. But the thing is, the law existed for a very lame purpose: to prevent people from holding public demonstrations.

I’ve tried searching for it on Google but I can’t seem to find it. Maybe the law has finally been removed. But as far as I can remember, it was still part of the law at least when I was attending Junior College 4 years back.

(But yes, public demonstrations are still illegal in Singapore. Or at least you need ask the ministry for permission before holding one. Like will they ever say yes?!)

Another one was erm no oral sex. Yes oral sex is illegal. Along with other weird sex laws and you can find them here: http://www.dumblaws.com/laws/singapore

Like, who cares what people do in their bedrooms? But you see, that is how much of a Big Brother our city state is. They want to have control over every bit of their citizens’ life to make sure that they have absolute power and that they stay in power. What intelligent ministers we have!

If I were still in Singapore, I wouldn’t give a shit about all these weird laws. Like yeah whatever, that’s just the way Singapore is. I wouldn’t think that being ranked near the bottom for press freedom was such a big deal. To put it in other words, I didn’t know we were fucked, nor did I care.

But after having travelled around the world a bit and then living in Japan for more than a year, and meeting a lot of people from different countries, I realised Singapore is really as screwed up as what people say. Being ranked near the bottom for press freedom IS a big deal. Having no rights to protest IS a big deal. Having the same political party in power since independence almost 50 years ago IS A DAMN BLOODY BIG DEAL.

The last question that the American-Chinese teacher asked me was, ‘So is the Singapore government good?’

Of course I gave him an immediate flat NO.

About Kimono Party Girl

I was born and bred in Singapore for the first 20 years of my life, and then I decided that even after flying all over the world as a flight attendant, life is still too boring. So, in search of more adventure and add spice to my life, I quit my job, packed up, and left for Japan - which is, to me, the promised land. I've always been fascinated with Japan ever since I was 8, thanks to Ayumi Hamasaki, aka the Britney Spears of Japan. She's the first J-pop singer that I have been obsessed with, and my first contact with the Japanese language was through her lyrics. Yup, I first learned my Hiragana from her song 'I am'. But what really sealed the deal was my first trip to Japan in 2010. The fresh air, the beautiful cherry blossoms, the endless fast fashion trends and the awesome food was what made Japan the land of my dreams, and it had since become my goal to one day live, work and party in Japan. So after working like a horse as a flight attendant for 2 years and saving up a decent amount, I made a big leap of faith and moved to the land of the rising sun. I have studied one year of Japanese and two years of graphic design. Currently, I'm in the midst of shukatsu (就活 - job hunting). Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Feeding the mind, life in japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Being a Singaporean

  1. thaibahts says:

    I didn’t know that Singapore doesn’t have a free press! How are the non white foreigners viewed there? I mean Indians, Chinese and maybe Africans

  2. Mirage says:

    Hi thaibahts, thank you for your comment. Well, essentially on the surface the press claims that they have freedom of publishing, but all of us deep down inside know that it’s obviously not true. When people start to turn to the internet for more trustworthy sources, you know the press is not reliable.

    Unfortunately, any foreigner in Singapore is seen as a threat, regardless of nationality or skin colour. This is because Singapore is getting very overpopulated and people have to constantly compete for scarce resources. And more people in the little island just means lesser personal space, and as human beings, we all need out personal space. So when Singaporeans are robbed of their personal space, the frustrations accumulates and sadly, they tend to lash it out on foreigners. I’m sorry I can’t reply in full here. I will do a post on this question soon, so please stay tuned!

    Once again, thank you for your interest in the subject!

Leave a Reply

